Scenario Manager question

All topics specific to modeling questions in Enterprise Dynamics

Scenario Manager question

Post by Newbie »

Hello community,

I am fairly new to ED and I wanted to know a little bit more about the Scenario Manager. If a model has a variety of parameters (ie several combinations of staff/machines) rather than running each possible configuration, I believe the Scenario Manager can be used to load each possible configuration and execute them sequentially. My question is, once this has been performed would I be able to view the output of each sim and compare them in one output file? If anyone has any useful guides or links I would be most grateful.

Thanks,
MatthijsJongboer

Re: Scenario Manager question

Post by MatthijsJongboer »

Hello Newbie and welcome to the community.
The Scenario Manager is used to sequentially run several models (scenario's) where each model needs to have an experiment defined.
The results of each experiment are placed in the result files (.sim) in the provided directory.
Afterwards, you can open one experiment result at a time for analysis.
If you want to compare the different experiment results with each other, you best collect the results (after each run or after each scenario). In most cases, an external tool like excel is used to gather all this data. It depends on what you want to achieve how to automate this.

Gr. Matthijs

Post by Newbie »

Thanks for your response Matthijs.

I would like to know your thoughts on a way to launch and run ED externally from .net c# (preferably silently)? My initial thoughts were to pass the parameters, such as Model file name (.mod) and values such as quantities and time, in a call to ED and review the simulated data (results). Now the Scenario Manager, may help as I believe there could be several predefined models. Then I can pass the same values and time to each model. Excuse my amateur explanation, but here’s an example to best explain my thoughts.