Page 1 of 1

How to group products within a queue

Posted: Thursday 30 May, 2013 - 12:36
by RobinKnoet
hello,

Is there a way to group products together in a queue?
I need this because I want to reduce setup times in the subsequent server.
The reason I don't think sort by [LabelName] in the queue discipline is appropriate, is because if a group of products of type 2 start processing and a new product of type 1 comes in (or vice versa) it would be sent to the front (or back) of the queue and thereby negating the benefits of queuing.

I hope this was clear enough and look forward to your reply.

Robin

Re: How to group products within a queue

Posted: Thursday 30 May, 2013 - 17:44
by marlies
Hi Robin,

This strategy can be done with a bit of user defined 4Dscript in the queue discipline.

See attached model for a small example model that has the functionality you described:

- If any product of the same type is already in the queue, the next product will be placed behind it.
- If no product of the same type is already in the queue, the next product will be placed at the end of the queue.

I added some comments to explain the working of the code, but if you have any questions about it: just post again!

Good luck!

Marlies

Re: How to group products within a queue

Posted: Sunday 02 June, 2013 - 17:04
by RobinKnoet
Hi,
Thank you. This was exactly what I was Looking for

Robin