How to group products within a queue

All topics on coding 4Dscript in Enterprise Dynamics.
Post Reply
RobinKnoet
Posts: 7
Joined: Wednesday 13 March, 2013 - 09:06

How to group products within a queue

Post by RobinKnoet »

hello,

Is there a way to group products together in a queue?
I need this because I want to reduce setup times in the subsequent server.
The reason I don't think sort by [LabelName] in the queue discipline is appropriate, is because if a group of products of type 2 start processing and a new product of type 1 comes in (or vice versa) it would be sent to the front (or back) of the queue and thereby negating the benefits of queuing.

I hope this was clear enough and look forward to your reply.

Robin
marlies
Posts: 301
Joined: Monday 17 January, 2011 - 09:28

Re: How to group products within a queue

Post by marlies »

Hi Robin,

This strategy can be done with a bit of user defined 4Dscript in the queue discipline.

See attached model for a small example model that has the functionality you described:

- If any product of the same type is already in the queue, the next product will be placed behind it.
- If no product of the same type is already in the queue, the next product will be placed at the end of the queue.

I added some comments to explain the working of the code, but if you have any questions about it: just post again!

Good luck!

Marlies
Attachments
20130530_QueueDiscipline.mod
(13.6 KiB) Downloaded 264 times
RobinKnoet
Posts: 7
Joined: Wednesday 13 March, 2013 - 09:06

Re: How to group products within a queue

Post by RobinKnoet »

Hi,
Thank you. This was exactly what I was Looking for

Robin
Post Reply