Queuing in PD

All topics related to questions in Pedestrian Dynamics
ie_1989
Posts: 58
Joined: Saturday 21 November, 2015 - 06:50

Re: Queuing in PD

Post by ie_1989 »

Dear Marlies, Thank you very much for your help. Yes that was my problem. I did based on your recommendation but it still has the same problem. So I have attached my file. In my model I have changed the Emergency Activity route, but the agents only use the last activity of the list.
Attachments
new_file.rar
(169.24 KiB) Downloaded 257 times
marlies
Posts: 301
Joined: Monday 17 January, 2011 - 09:28

Re: Queuing in PD

Post by marlies »

Hi,

I don't exactly understand what it is that you want the model to do, so I am not sure what needs to be changed. I do have one suggestion that might have been a problem if you created a new exit acitivity.
In the tab locations of the agent activity there is a setting named "revisited allowed". When this option is not selected, agents will not go to an entry/exit they already visited before, even if it's an emergency situation. So in the emergency exit it could be useful to check that option. Which will open the possibility to turn back to their original entryexit in case of an emergency.

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (28.81 KiB) Viewed 17181 times
If this will not solve your problem: could you please describe in more detail the expected behaviour of the model?

Kind regards, Marlies
ie_1989
Posts: 58
Joined: Saturday 21 November, 2015 - 06:50

Re: Queuing in PD

Post by ie_1989 »

OK. Lets define the problem this way: I have defined different groups for the Entry/ Exit Locations. For example "E3_Platform", "Gallery_G2" and " Emergency". I want the agents to leave the system through all of these locations when the evacuation begins (not only one location type which is here "Emergency"). As I said, they only leave the system through the "Emergency" group of the Entry/Exit Location. I want to see that they leave the system through other locations, say the "Gallery_G2", as well. But they don't do it. I have used your solution but it did not work. Am I able to convey my meaning?
ie_1989
Posts: 58
Joined: Saturday 21 November, 2015 - 06:50

Re: Queuing in PD

Post by ie_1989 »

My problem was solved. based on your first solution, Firstly I defined 2 activity routes for Evacuation, I defined the Response as follows:

**Switch to emergency route.**}

Agent_Reroute_UpdateActivityRoute(
s,
{New route ID} {**Uniformly distributed between e1 and e2**} dUniform(37, 38) , {0 = evacuation route}
0
)
In above relationship, 37 and 38 are the ID of the defined routes.
Now the agents use both route for exiting during the evacuation. I just have 2 questions now.
1. Do they choose the routes for exiting based on the least effort (least distance, or something like that) or they choose it randomly due to what I have defined above? If they choose randomly, how can I make them to choose based on the least effort
2. I want to get information of the exit time for each Entry/Exit Location separately (More precisely, the time at which the last agents has left the system through each Exit Location). Can PD provide such information for me?
ie_1989
Posts: 58
Joined: Saturday 21 November, 2015 - 06:50

Re: Queuing in PD

Post by ie_1989 »

Dear Marlies,
Can you help me with the issue? I want the agents to choose the closest exit in their emergency route. How can I do such a thing?
Thank you
marlies
Posts: 301
Joined: Monday 17 January, 2011 - 09:28

Re: Queuing in PD

Post by marlies »

Hi,

What I understand is the following: you would like to use a specific subset of all entry/exits to be available as emergency exists. However you can't specify one groupname "emergency" as you already used the groupname setting for the other routes. To solve this, there are 2 options:
a. Use the original emergency exits with all entryexits in the list and change the following:
- In the tab Locations > Specify a 1 in the 3rd column for all entryexits that are a possible emergency exit.
- In the tab Locations > Location Distribution choose UserDefined
- In the same tab > Location Assignment: choose the option {**Fastest via ECM network**}
- Click in this field and replace the condition TRUE, by the condition in the explanatory text:

Code: Select all

Cell(Count, AgentActivity_COLUMN_PERCENTAGE, c) > 0
The effect will be the following: agents will choose an exit that can be reached in the fastest way. But they will only choose those exits that have a "1" in the 3rd column. See also attached model where I implemented this change in the activity emergency_exit (ID 43).

b. Another option: let's have a look at the activity Enter Gallery_G2 as an example. In the model you now used the group name in the activity location and then selected the activity group in the activity. Another way to model this could be:
- Instead of Gallery_G2 select Activity group: All
- Instead of location distribution Uniform, choose: Empirical
- Specify 100 (for 100%) in the 3d column of the locations tab behind the correct entry exit.
The effect will be that 100% will be assigned to that entry exit, which is the same as the uniform assignment in a list of 1 exit.

I will come back to your other question in the next post.

Regards, Marlies
Attachments
new_file_v2.zip
(294.18 KiB) Downloaded 229 times
marlies
Posts: 301
Joined: Monday 17 January, 2011 - 09:28

Re: Queuing in PD

Post by marlies »

Hi,

For an answer to your question regarding the evaucation time analysis please have a look at this post:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=817#p2753

Kind regards,

Marlies
ie_1989
Posts: 58
Joined: Saturday 21 November, 2015 - 06:50

Re: Queuing in PD

Post by ie_1989 »

Thank you very much for your help. That was a good solution. Also I used a conditional statement for choosing the desired routes. That is, the agents choose their routes based on the layer on which they are located, when the evacuation begins. ;)
marlies
Posts: 301
Joined: Monday 17 January, 2011 - 09:28

Re: Queuing in PD

Post by marlies »

Nice :) !
ie_1989
Posts: 58
Joined: Saturday 21 November, 2015 - 06:50

Re: Queuing in PD

Post by ie_1989 »

I remember that I asked you about the PD error 1005 before. Is this error only related to the physical design of the model or it can have a logical root? for example I got this during my run:

PD error 1005: No route found between start location (86.4089, 20.6301) at layer 1 and goal location (59.7085, 106.709) at layer 4 for agent 96897152 | Time: 135.600002908711, c: SimControl (AtomID: 275), i: E3_Incoming_Passengers_42140 (AtomID: 42140), OnEvent, EventCode: 1

In addition to this error, sometimes when I run the model, I got the errors 1004 and 1003. for example:

PD error 1004: No network connection between start location (26.4277, 148.076) at layer 3 and goal location (38.4667, 161.595) at layer 4 for agent 94522352 | Time: 300.000002908702, c: SimControl (AtomID: 275), i: E3_Incoming_Passengers_42140 (AtomID: 42140), OnEvent, EventCode: 1
PD error 1003: Invalid goal locations for agent 94522352. Start location (26.4277, 148.076) at layer 3. Goal locations:
- (77.6159, 186.467) at layer 9. No network connection between start location and goal location.
- (25.7934, 189.357) at layer 21. No network connection between start location and goal location. | Time: 360.000002908699, c: SimControl (AtomID: 275), OnEvent, EventCode: 1

I got these errors at some seeds. for example here I got them in seed value 7489. When the model run into the last 2 errors, at least one agent stops at a stair between two layers (I have attached an snapshot of it).
For more analysis I have attached my model, as well
Attachments
2016-03-03_12-32-41.png
2016-03-03_12-32-41.png (202.74 KiB) Viewed 17120 times
Final_File.rar
(222.21 KiB) Downloaded 215 times
Post Reply